TROUVER UNE BATTERIE
Votre véhicule
MON EMPLACEMENT TROUVER UN EMPLACEMENT
Votre emplacement
Trouvez une Interstate Batteries près de chez vous
Mon emplacement
Heures d’ouverture
  • Fermé
  • Communiquez avec le magasin pour connaître les heures d’ouverture
Produits
Services
TROUVER UNE BATTERIE
Effectuez une recherche de batterie pour enregistrer un véhicule
Votre véhicule
MON EMPLACEMENT TROUVER UN EMPLACEMENT
Votre emplacement
Trouvez une Interstate Batteries près de chez vous
Mon emplacement
Heures d’ouverture
  • Fermé
  • Communiquez avec le magasin pour connaître les heures d’ouverture
Produits
Services

Questions fréquentes

Garantie

Quelle est la garantie de ma batterie? Where can I take my battery if it's bad?
Nos batteries pour véhicules disposent d’une garantie à l’échelle du pays. Vous n’avez pas à rapporter la batterie à la même succursale où vous l’avez achetée. Consultez notre localisateur de succursale en ligne pour trouver le concessionnaire le plus proche.

Information sur les batteries et sécurité

Puis-je survolter une batterie?
Oui. Si une batterie est chaude au toucher et que ses parois sont gonflées, cela est signe de surcharge. Une batterie dans cet état est dangereuse et risque d’exploser. Utilisez toujours le chargeur approprié lorsque vous rechargez une batterie de voiture. Faites-la vérifier périodiquement par un spécialiste si elle doit être rechargée souvent. Portez attention aux étiquettes qui expliquent en détail comment recharger la batterie. Le respect de ces directives aide à éviter la surcharge et les risques de dommages et de blessures.
Comment dois-je procéder pour nettoyer ma batterie?

Nettoyer régulièrement votre batterie est une bonne façon d’en augmenter la durée de vie. Assurez la propreté des bornes et du boîtier de la batterie. Au moins une fois par année, vérifiez visuellement la présence de corrosion sur les bornes et les câbles, en particulier dans les endroits où la température est élevée. Évitez qu’il ne s’accumule de la saleté et de l’huile sur le dessus de la batterie afin de réduire le risque de formation de courants transitoires entre les pôles positif et négatif, lesquels accéléreraient la décharge de la batterie.

Des produits de nettoyage pour batteries sont disponibles. Utilisez ces produits pour nettoyer les bornes, les câbles et le boîtier de la batterie. Vous pouvez également utiliser une solution d’eau et de bicarbonate de soude. Assurez-vous que les couvercles de la batterie sont bien en place afin d’éviter toute forme d’infiltration durant le nettoyage. Une fois l’acide neutralisé, rincez la batterie avec de l’eau. Après avoir nettoyé les bornes et les câbles avec une brosse métallique, remettez les câbles en place et utilisez une solution de protection en aérosol pour protéger les bornes contre la corrosion.

Comment savoir qu’il est temps de remplacer la batterie de ma voiture?

Par contre, l’une ou l’autre des situations suivantes peut survenir sans signes annonciateurs, ou très peu, auxquels cas, vous devez immédiatement vérifier votre batterie.

  • Le moteur démarre difficilement.
  • Le voyant de la batterie du tableau de bord demeure allumé de façon prolongée après le démarrage.
  • Les phares faiblissent lorsque le moteur marche au ralenti.  
  • L’horloge de bord se dérègle lorsque le véhicule demeure inutilisé plusieurs jours d’affilée. 

Ces symptômes peuvent être causés par une batterie déchargée ou par des problèmes du chargeur de batteries.

Note: To maximize the vehicle’s battery/charging system service life and performance, Interstate Batteries recommends having your vehicle battery tested at least semiannually or every time the oil is changed.

Comment doit-on entreposer une batterie lorsqu’elle n’est pas utilisée?

Nettoyez le boîtier de la batterie avec du bicarbonate de soude et frottez les bornes avec une brosse métallique. Vérifiez le niveau d’eau de la batterie et ajoutez-en au besoin. Vérifiez votre batterie à l’aide d’un densimètre et/ou d’un voltmètre pour vous assurer qu’elle est complètement rechargée. Au besoin, rechargez-la. Vérifiez le niveau d’eau et l’état de charge de la batterie tous les 45 à 60 jours. Au besoin, ajoutez de l’eau distillée et rechargez-la.

NOTES: Batteries stored in a discharged state are susceptible to freezing in cold weather and sulfation. Une batterie complètement chargée ne gèle pas à moins que la température ne descente autour de -24 °C (-75 °F). Par contre, si elle est déchargée, elle peut geler à -9° C (15° F).

Entreposez votre batterie dans un endroit sec, frais et bien aéré, hors de la portée des enfants et des animaux de compagnie.

Est-il dommageable de placer une batterie automobile sur une surface en béton?
Le plastique utilisé de nos jours pour la fabrication des boîtiers de batteries (le polypropylène) est un excellent isolant électrique. Aussi, d’énormes progrès technologiques ont été accomplis dans la fabrication des joints étanches entourant les bornes de batteries et les systèmes d’évents, ce qui a permis d’éliminer pratiquement tout suintement et tout écoulement de l’électrolyte. Il est donc correct de placer ou d’entreposer votre batterie sur le béton. Le régime de décharge n’est affecté que par l’âge de la batterie, la configuration interne de cette dernière et la température extérieure.
Doit-on conserver les piles alcalines au réfrigérateur?
Non, de nos jours, il n’est ni nécessaire ni recommandé d’entreposer les batteries dans un réfrigérateur ou dans un congélateur. Les piles alcalines perdent habituellement moins de 1 % de leur charge par mois. Le stockage à basse température peut endommager les batteries si la condensation se solde par la corrosion des contacts ou des plaques. Le stockage sous des températures extrêmes risque aussi d’endommager les sceaux des batteries. Pour une performance et une durée limite de stockage maximales, entreposez les batteries à la température de la pièce (20 °C à 25 °C ou 68 °F à 78 °F) et maintenez un taux d’humidité modéré (entre 35 % et 65 % d’humidité relative).
Dois-je retirer les piles alcalines des appareils que je n’utilise pas?
Seulement si vous n’utilisez pas l’appareil pendant plusieurs mois. Les batteries qui n’ont pas été utilisées depuis un certain temps sont sujettes à l’autodécharge. Par conséquent, il est bon de les tester. Retirez les batteries déchargées des appareils afin d’éviter les fuites.
Qu’est-ce qui fait en sorte que la batterie d’un véhicule gèle?
Une batterie complètement chargée ne gèle pas à moins que la température ne descende autour de -24 °C (-75 °F). Par contre, une batterie déchargée peut geler à -9 °C (15 °F). On protège les batteries du gel en les maintenant complètement chargées.
Le fait de rouler avec un véhicule permet-il de recharger complètement sa batterie?

Dans des conditions normales, l’alternateur suffit amplement à maintenir la pleine charge de la batterie. Par contre, si la batterie a subi une décharge poussée, il est possible que l’alternateur ne parvienne pas à recharger complètement la batterie. Les trois principaux facteurs affectant la charge sont l’ampérage, la tension et la durée de chargement.

  1. L’ampérage ou la sortie de courant d’un alternateur est plus que suffisante pour alimenter le véhicule et recharger la batterie, tant que le véhicule roule sur la route. Lorsque le moteur marche au ralenti, le courant est plus faible et peut être insuffisant.
  2. La tension requise pour recharger complètement une batterie après une décharge poussée est supérieure à celle que l’alternateur peut produire. L’alternateur maintient une tension basse afin de protéger les appareils électroniques du véhicule, mais cela augmente radicalement le temps nécessaire pour recharger complètement la batterie.
  3. Temps de recharge. Dans des conditions normales, il suffit de rouler de 15 à 20 minutes pour recharger adéquatement la batterie. Si la batterie est dans un état de décharge poussée, il faut rouler plusieurs heures pour la recharger. S’il a fallu utiliser l’aide au démarrage pour démarrer le véhicule, la batterie risque de ne jamais atteindre un état de pleine charge à moins d’utiliser un chargeur.
Qu’est-ce qui provoque la corrosion et la fuite des piles alcalines (AA, AAA, C, D, 9V)?
La chaleur est le principal coupable. Entreposez les piles neuves inutilisées dans un endroit frais et sec. Une fois que des piles ont été placées dans un appareil, celui-ci doit être protégé de la chaleur extrême ou prolongée. Avec le temps, les piles alcalines risquent de fuir en raison d’une rupture du boîtier. L’autodécharge est un phénomène qui affecte toutes les piles, installées ou non, mais une pile installée est davantage sujette aux fuites. Retirez les piles des appareils inutilisés durant plusieurs mois.
Golf Cart Battery Installation and Maintenance
Click here to learn more about golf cart battery installation and maintenance.

Services

Recyclage

Comment Interstate procède-t-elle au transport sécuritaire des batteries à recycler?

Chez Interstate, nous prenons le recyclage des batteries au sérieux. Nous nous assurons que les batteries au plomb-acide sont manutentionnées et recyclées correctement en mettant en application la norme écologique Interstate Batteries.

La Norme écologique est notre système exclusif de pratiques de manutention et de recyclage des batteries conçu pour répondre et dépasser les exigences fédérales et étatiques en matière de transport et d’environnement.

Lorsque vous choisissez Interstate Batteries, vos batteries sont traitées dans un système en circuit fermé par du personnel certifié Norme écologique. Ces employés sont formés pour s’assurer que les batteries sont transportées, entreposées et emballées de manière adéquate et sécuritaire afin de pouvoir les envoyer dans un centre de recyclage agréé.

Comment les batteries sont-elles recyclées?

The process of recycling spent lead-acid batteries is two steps: separating the old battery’s components and then refining those components for new battery manufacturing. Batteries have three basic components: lead, electrolyte and plastic. Le plastique est recyclé conformément aux processus en vigueur dans l’industrie et est souvent réutilisé pour la fabrication de nouveaux boîtiers et couvercles de batteries. L’achat de plomb issu des mines est la source d’approvisionnement la moins efficace pour la fabrication de nouvelles batteries, c’est pourquoi chaque gramme de plomb récupérable est réutilisé pour la fabrication de batteries neuves. Le plomb est fondu et coulé en lingots pour faciliter son transport et sa réutilisation dans le processus de fabrication. L’électrolyte, un mélange d’acide sulfurique et d’eau, est en partie réutilisable pour la fabrication de batteries neuves. L’électrolyte inutilisable est neutralisé et utilisé pour la fabrication de textiles, de détergent à lessive et de verre.

Interstate Batteries affirme qu’elle recycle davantage de batteries qu’elle n’en vend. Comment fait-elle?
Nous recueillons et recyclons aussi les batteries qui n’ont pas été achetées chez Interstate. Nous avons établi un partenariat avec plus de 200 000 concessionnaires à travers le pays pour recueillir leurs batteries au plomb-acide usagées et faire en sorte de les acheminer directement vers les usines de recyclage. Interstate achète aussi des batteries au rebut et les recycle dans le cadre de son effort continu de protection de l’environnement.
Quels types de batteries sont recyclables?
Visitez notre page Recyclez avec nous pour savoir quels types de batteries nous pouvons vous aider à recycler.
Où vos batteries sont-elles recyclées?
Interstate travaille en collaboration avec des usines de recyclage accréditées par l’EPA et spécialisées dans le recyclage des batteries au plomb-acide.
Où puis-je recycler mes vieilles batteries?
Puis-je acheter une batterie Interstate en ligne et la récupérer chez le détaillant le plus près de chez moi?
Pas maintenant.
Je ne vois pas d’informations détaillées sur les produits dans certaines catégories de produits du All Battery Center. Quelle est la meilleure façon de vérifier la disponibilité d’une sorte de batterie ou d’un produit en particulier?

Nos magasins All Battery Center offrent toute la gamme des batteries DEA Interstate (démarrage, éclairage et allumage) pour votre automobile, votre bateau ou votre voiturette de golf. You can use the Battery Finder on this site to find the right battery for your make and model.

For all other types of batteries and products, you can contact your closest All Battery Center location by email or phone to get expert advice regarding a product or specific battery for your device. Nos conseillers peuvent non seulement vous indiquer quelle est la batterie qui convient à votre appareil, mais aussi vérifier si nous l’avons en stock et la préparer pour que vous veniez la récupérer en magasin. You can also check our Part Lookup and Cross-Reference Database for more information before contacting or visiting your local store.

Quelle est la meilleure façon d’obtenir le prix des produits que vous tenez?
Pour vérifier un prix, communiquez avec votre concessionnaire Interstate Batteries le plus proche ou directement avec un All Battery Center. Ils peuvent vous fournir le prix exact des produits que vous cherchez et vous informer des promotions en cours.
Offrez-vous des coupons/des rabais sur les batteries de véhicules?
Les rabais sont à la discrétion de chaque magasin ou concessionnaire local. Veuillez communiquer avec votre magasin ou votre concessionnaire directement pour vous informer des promotions en cours, le cas échéant. Si vous magasinez dans un All Battery Center, vous pouvez consulter les offres en vigueur localement sous l’onglet Promotions, sur la page Web individuelle de chaque magasin.
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink SoftwarePowered By OneLink

FIND A BATTERY
Your Vehicle
MY LOCATION FIND A LOCATION
Your Location
Find an Interstate Battery Near You
My Location
Hours of Operation
  • Closed
  • Contact Store For Hours of Operation
Products
Services
FIND A BATTERY
Complete a battery search to save a vehicle
Your Vehicle
MY LOCATION FIND A LOCATION
Your Location
Find an Interstate Battery Near You
My Location
Hours of Operation
  • Closed
  • Contact Store For Hours of Operation
Products
Services

Frequently Asked Questions

Warranty

What is the warranty on my battery? Where can I take my battery if it's bad?
We have nationwide warranty on our vehicle batteries. You do not need to take the battery back to the original location where you purchased it. Visit our online location finder to find the nearest dealer near you.

Battery Info and Safety

Can I overcharge a battery?
Yes. A battery that swells and becomes hot to the touch is also a direct result of overcharging and can be very dangerous and even explode. Always use the correct charger when charging a car battery, and have it checked periodically by a specialist if charging must be done frequently. Pay attention to labels that indicate exactly how the battery should be charged; this helps eliminate overcharging and possible harm and injury.
How do I keep my battery clean?

Keeping your battery clean is a great way to extend its life. Keep the terminals and the battery case clean. Visually inspect the terminals and cables for signs of corrosion at least once a year, especially in hot temperatures. Keep the top of the battery clean of heavy dirt and oil to reduce the risk of electrical transients between the positive and negative posts, which will result in a quicker discharge.

Battery cleaners are available. Use them to clean the terminals, cables and the battery case. You can also use a mixture of baking soda and water. Ensure that the caps are left on the battery during cleaning so that nothing gets into the battery. Once the acid is neutralized, rinse the battery with water. After cleaning the terminals and cables with a wire brush, reinstall the battery cables and use a terminal protector spray to protect the terminals from future corrosion.

How do I know when it is time to replace the battery in my car?

There may be little or no warning, however, if any of the following happens, your battery should be tested immediately:

  • Motor has difficulty cranking over.
  • Battery indicator light on the instrument panel stays lit for extended periods after starting
  • Headlights dim when the engine is idling, or  
  • Clock starts to lose time after the vehicle sits unused for several days 

All of the symptoms described above and also be attributed to a discharged battery or charging system problems.

Note: To maximize the vehicle’s battery/charging system service life and performance, Interstate Batteries recommends having your vehicle battery tested at least semiannually or every time the oil is changed.

How should I store my battery, when not in use?

Clean the battery case with baking soda and water and scrub the terminals with a wire brush. Check the water level and add water if needed. Test your battery with a hydrometer and/or a voltmeter to ensure the battery is fully charged. If needed, charge your battery. Check the water level and state of charge every 45-60 days. If needed, add distilled water and charge.

NOTES: Batteries stored in a discharged state are susceptible to freezing in cold weather and sulfation. A fully charged battery will not freeze unless the temperature reaches approximately 75° F (24° C) below zero. But if discharged, it can freeze at 15° F (-9° C)

Store your battery in a dry, cool, well-ventilated area and out of the reach of children and pets.

Is it bad to set an automotive battery on concrete?
Today, the type of plastic (polypropylene) used in battery cases is a great electrical insulator. Also, tremendous technological improvements have been made in the seals around the battery posts and vent systems, which have virtually eliminated electrolyte seepage and migration. So, it's OK to set or store your battery on concrete. A battery's rate of discharge is only affected by its age, the temperature outside and the way the inside of the battery is made.
Should I keep my alkaline batteries in the refrigerator?
No, storage in a refrigerator or freezer is not required or recommended for batteries produced today. Alkaline batteries typically lose less than 1% of their charge per month. Cold temperature storage can harm batteries if condensation results in corroded contacts or label or seal damage due to extreme temperature storage. To maximize performance and shelf life, store batteries at normal room temperatures (68° F to 78° F or 20° C to 25° C) with moderated humidity levels (35 to 65% RH).
Should I remove alkaline batteries from devices that I’m not using?
Only if you are not using the device for several months. It’s a good idea to test batteries that have not been used recently because they will continue to self-discharge. Remove dead batteries from devices to prevent leakage.
What causes a vehicle battery to freeze?
A fully charged battery will not freeze unless the temperature reaches approximately 75° F below zero F (-60° C). But if discharged, it can freeze at 15° F (-9° C). Keeping a battery fully charged will prevent it from freezing.
Will driving a car fully recharge a battery?

Under normal conditions the alternator is more than adequate to keep the battery fully charged. If the battery became deeply discharged the alternator may not be able to fully charge the battery. The three main factors affecting charge is the amperage, voltage and charge time.

  1. The amperage or current output of an alternator is more than adequate to power the vehicle and charge the battery as long as the vehicle is driving down the road, at idle the current is lower and may be less than adequate.
  2. The charging voltage required to fully charge a deeply discharged battery is higher than the alternator can produce. Since the alternator keeps the voltage on the low side to protect the electronics in the vehicle it will dramatically increase the time needed to get the battery fully charged.
  3. Charge time. Under normal conditions driving for 15 to 20 minutes is an adequate charge. If the battery became deeply discharged it will take many hours of driving to charge it. If the vehicle had to be jump started the battery may not ever get up to a full state of charge unless a charger is used.
What causes an alkaline battery (AA, AAA, C, D, 9v) to corrode and leak?
Heat is the biggest culprit. Store new, unused batteries in a cool, dry place.  When installed in a device, keep the device out of extreme or prolonged heat. Over time all alkaline batteries can begin to leak due to casings breaking down. All batteries self-discharge whether installed or not, but an installed battery is more likely to experience leakage.  Make sure batteries are removed from a device that is not being used for several months.
Golf Cart Battery Installation and Maintenance
Click here to learn more about golf cart battery installation and maintenance.

Services

Recycling

How does Interstate transport the batteries for recycling so that they arrive safely for recycling?

At Interstate, we take battery recycling seriously. We work to ensure proper handling and recycling of spent lead-acid batteries – that's why we commit to the Interstate Batteries Green Standard.

The Green Standard is our system of proprietary recycling and battery handling practices designed to meet and exceed federal and state transportation and environmental regulations.

When you choose Interstate Batteries, your batteries are handled from start to finish in a closed loop system by Green Standard-certified personnel. These individuals are trained to ensure that batteries are properly and safely transported, stored and packaged, so they can be sent to an approved recycling facility.

How is a battery recycled?

The process of recycling spent lead-acid batteries is two steps: separating the old battery’s components and then refining those components for new battery manufacturing. Batteries have three basic components: lead, electrolyte and plastic. The plastic follows the industry’s common recycling process, and is often reused for making new battery cases and covers. Since mining for lead is the least efficient way to make new batteries, every ounce of lead possible is recaptured for new battery manufacturing. The lead is melted down into ingots for easy transport and manufacturing. Some of the battery’s electrolyte, a mixture of sulfuric acid and water, is reusable for new batteries. The rest is neutralized and used for manufacturing textiles, laundry detergent and glass.

Interstate Batteries claims to recycle more batteries than it sells. How do you do that?
It doesn’t have to be an original Interstate purchase for us to collect and recycle it. We partner with more than 200,000 dealers across the nation to collect their spent lead-acid batteries and ensure they get sent directly to recycling facilities. Interstate also purchases scrap batteries and recycle them as part of our ongoing effort to protect the environment.
What types of batteries can be recycled?
Visit our Recycle With Us page to learn about the different types of batteries we can help you recycle.
Where are your batteries recycled?
Interstate works with EPA-registered recycling facilities that specialize in recycling lead-acid batteries.
Where can I recycle my old batteries?
Can I buy an Interstate battery online and pick it up at my nearest dealer?
Not at this time.
I do not see detailed product information for some of the All Battery Center product categories. What is the best way to find out if a specific type of battery or product is available?

Our All Battery Centers carry our full line of Interstate SLI (Starting Lighting Ignition) batteries for your automotive, marine and golf car needs. You can use the Battery Finder on this site to find the right battery for your make and model.

For all other types of batteries and products, you can contact your closest All Battery Center location by email or phone to get expert advice regarding a product or specific battery for your device. They can ensure you not only get the right battery for your device, but also verify it is in stock and have it ready for pick up. You can also check our Part Lookup and Cross-Reference Database for more information before contacting or visiting your local store.

What is the best way to find out pricing for the products you carry?
To verify pricing, contact your closest Interstate Batteries dealer or All Battery Center directly. They can provide you with the exact pricing as well as alert you to any current deals.
Do you offer coupons/discounts on vehicle batteries?
Discounting is up to the discretion of each local store and dealer. Please contact your store or dealer directly to inquire about any current promotions they may be offering. If shopping at an All Battery Center, you can view current local offers under the Promotions tab on the individual store pages.